Bar Association:
(909) 483-0548
Lawyer Referral Service:
(909) 945-2980

Legal Assistant Of The Year Award

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Legal Assistant Of The...

2021-2022 Legal Assistant of the Year

Myrna Thomas

Legal Assistant of the Year

Ms. Thomas began her career on July 3, 1999, as a Clerk III. She promoted to Legal Processing Assistant II on June 15, 2002. She was then promoted to Court Attendant on September 18, 2004, to Judicial Assistant I on April 15, 2006, and then to her current position of Judicial Assistant II on April 15, 2007. She is currently assigned to the San Bernardino Family Law district.

Ms. Thomas demonstrates excellent customer service skills. When dealing with irate customers, she remains positive and calm. She is able to handle these types of situations with professionalism and politeness, even in the middle of the calendar. She ensures that her minute orders are up to date, so the public does not have to wait long to get copies. She often assists other departments.  Ms. Thomas also brings a wonderful sense of humor to the job.

Myrna enjoys spending time with her husband and children. She especially enjoys supporting her son during basketball games and daughter in cheerleading. In her spare time, she loves spending time at the river, supporting her local police departments with their fundraisers and cheering on the Patriots.

Watch online here!



Connie Johnson

Legal Assistant of the Year

Connie began her work in the legal industry in 1988, in a workers’ compensation firm in San Bernardino. She desired to seek out a more challenging career and was hired by Attorney Stanford E. Reichert (Judge Reichert) in 1997 in the insurance defense field. After two years, Judge Reichert closed his practice to take the bench, and Connie accepted a position with Kinkle, Rodiger&Spriggs working for Claudia Spriggs. A year later she followed Ms. Spriggs to Lewis BrisboisBisgaard& Smith where she worked for over 15 years.

Connie has always had a desire to learn more and to help others. She Joined the Inland Counties Association of Paralegals (ICAP) in 2008 serving as a director through 2017, and as President from 2013 through 2017. She arranged yearly conferences, monthly MCLE meetings, yearly paralegal day luncheons and holiday parties.

Connie was awarded the National Affiliated Associations Achievement award from the National Association of Legal Assistants (NALA) in 2010, 2011, 2014 and 2016 and received the Woman of the Year Award from the National Association of Professional Women in 2014 for her dedication and work as a Professional Woman in the work force. Connie has served as a director/officer for the Legal Aid Society of San Bernardino (LASSB) since 2014.

Connie lives with the love of her life, husband Michael Johnson. She has one son, Patrick, four step children and three grandchildren. She was also a concert French horn player from 1982 through 2010.

Watch online here!

Nadya Avakian

Nadya Avakian

Legal Assistant of the Year

Nadya Avakian began her career with the court as a Legal Processing Assistant Trainee on March 4, 2006 at the San Bernardino Civil department. She promoted to Legal Processing Assistant I on September 2, 2006, and to a Legal Processing Assistant II on March 1, 2008. On March 7, 2015 she promoted to a Judicial Assistant I and then to a Judicial Assistant II on March 5, 2016 and was previously assigned to assist the Honorable David Cohn. Nadya is currently on special assignment for the implementation of the court’s new case management system. Nadya graduated from the University of California, Irvine in June 2005 with a Bachelor’s degree in Political Science. Her hobbies include watching almost any type of sporting event, but mostly football, basketball and baseball, walking her dog Patches and traveling. In her spare time, Nadya enjoys to cook or bake for her family and friends.

2019/2020 – Nadya Avakian

2018/2019 – Karen Diggs

2017/2018 – Nancy Eberhardt

2016/2017 – Claire Furness

2015/2016 – Lynn Houser

2014/2015 – Rachele Radeleff

2013/2014 – Roberta Shouse (posthumously)

2012/2013 – Crystal Burton

2011/2012 – Jessica Ramirez

2010/2011 – Tressa S. Kentner

2009/2010 – Richard Unger

2008/2009 – Kelly Guzman

2007/2008 – Susan Alday

2006/2007 – John Files

2005/2006 – Wanda Lewis

2004/2005 – Elena Apodaca

2003/2004 –  Constance Leftridge