(909) 483-0548

Judicial Officer Of The Year


John Pacheco Photo


Honorable John Pacheco

2016-2017 Judicial Officer of the Year



     Superior Court Judge, State of California/San Bernardino County Superior Court, San Bernardino, CA – 2001 to present.  Since 2011 assigned to San Bernardino Civil District to a courtroom doing civil jury and bench trials; 2010 – 2011: Unlawful Detainer, Civil Harassment, Small Claims Assignment;  2001 – 2009:  Joshua Tree Court – family law calendar, criminal preliminary hearings and civil jury trials – 2004, criminal assignment – 2001-2003; 1996 – 2001, partnership with Florentino and Thomas Garza (Garza, Garza & Pacheco); 1995-1996, Garza & Reyes (personal injury specialty); 1984 – 1995, Law Offices of Rose, Klein & Marias (Third Party Litigation specialty).

     Member of Joseph B. Campbell American Inns of Court (JBCAIC) 1985 to 2015: active member, 2002 to 2015: Officer of JBCAIC, 2010 Past President (President 2008-2009 and Vice-President 2004-2007) – JBCAIC is part of a National Organization of American Inns of Court committed to promoting civility, professionalism and ethics in the legal community; 2009-2014: Member of the Access and Fairness Advisory Committee for the Administration of Courts for the State of California, appointed to co-chair the Racial and Ethnic Fairness sub-committee by State Supreme Court Chief Justice Ronald George; 2002 to present, Member, California Hispanic Judges Association; 2003-2005, appointed to serve on the California Interpreters Advisory Panel, served under chair Justice Eileen Moore; 2003-2009, Grand Jury Selection Committee for San Bernardino County; 2004-2007, nominated to the San Bernardino Superior Court Executive Committee representing Rancho Cucamonga/Chino, Joshua Tree & San Bernardino Central Districts; 2004-2009, part-time professor at University of California Riverside Extension; 2005-2006, nominated to the San Bernardino Superior Court Executive Committee representing San Bernardino Central; 2006 to present, Member, Bench Bar Coalition; 2007 to 2014, nominated to serve on the Access and Fairness Committee; 2010 to 2014, Co-Chair of Racial and Ethnic Fairness sub-committee; 2007-2016, Member of the Community Outreach Committee for San Bernardino Superior Court (Chair 2007-2014); 2008-2015, selected as the only judge on the Domestic Violence Death Review Team of 32 members for San Bernardino County; 2011 to 2014: Council on Access and Fairness for State Bar of California (COAF); 2012 to 2014: Cultural Competency Curriculum Workgroup for Judicial Council of California Administrative Office of the Courts; 2014-2016, Diversity Summit 2016 Committee; 2014-Present, American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA); 2014- 2016 California Judicial Education and Research (CJER); 2007-present Red Mass Committee.



2017/2018 – Honorable John Pacheco

2016/2017 – Honorable Marsha G. Slough

2015/2016 – Honorable Janet Frangie

2014/2015 – Chief Justice of California, Tani Gorre Cantil-Sakauye

2013/2014 – Honorable Jeffrey King

2012/2013 – Honorable Benjamin T. Kayashima

2011/2012 – Honorable Christopher J. Warner

2010/2011 – Commissioner Ronald Gilbert